Saturday, May 21 2022

The DMK government will continue to observe April 14 as the Tamil New Year, in accordance with the list of public holidays for the year 2022, notified in a government decree on Tuesday. During the last Karunanidhi regime (2006-11), the first day of the Tamil “Thai” month (around January 14) was declared Tamil New Year instead of April 14 (Chithirai). However, this decision was overturned by the Jayalalithaa government that followed.

The government on Tuesday announced the list of 23 public holidays for government offices and all commercial banks, including cooperative banks across the state under the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 for 2022.

The public holidays for 2022 are: New Years Day (January 1, Saturday), Pongal (January 14, Friday), Thiruvalluvar Day (January 15, Saturday), Uzhavar Thirunal (January 16, Sunday), Thai Poosam (18 January, Tuesday), Republic Day (Wednesday January 26), Annual closing of accounts of commercial banks and cooperative banks (April 1, Friday) Telugu New Year’s Day (Saturday April 2), Tamil New Year’s Day, Birthday of Dr BRAmbedkar and Mahaveer Jayanthi (April 14, Thursday), Good Friday (April 15), May 1 (May 1, Sunday) Ramzan (Idul Fitr) (May 3, Tuesday), Bakrid (Idul Azha) (July 10, Sunday), Muharram (August 9, Tuesday), Independence Day (August 15, Monday), Krishna Jayanthi (August 19, Friday), Vinayakar Chathurthi (August 31 Wednesday), Gandhi Jayanthi (October 2, Sunday), Ayutha Pooja (October 4, Tuesday), Vijaya Dasami (October 5, Wednesday), Milad-un-Nabi (October 9, Sunday), Deepavali (October 24, Monday) and Christmas (December 25, Sunday).


Hmong New Year celebration marks harvest, honors ancestors and anticipates new blessings


Doja Cat to perform New Years concert at Atlantis Paradise Island

Check Also