Friday, August 5 2022

The spike in Omicron cases has prompted several state governments to impose Covid-related restrictions during New Year’s Eve celebrations to contain the highly infectious variant. India has so far reported 781 cases of Omicron variant with the highest number of infections in Delhi (238), followed by Maharashtra (167). The sudden spike in Covid cases in the country has forced all eight states to impose nighttime curfews and other restrictions.

List of states and union territories that have banned New Year’s gatherings:


Among the toughest Covid restrictions imposed ahead of New Year 2022, Delhi tops the list in the country. The nation’s capital has sounded the “yellow alert” due to the increase in Omicron cases. The city has imposed a nighttime curfew from 10 p.m. to 5 a.m. In addition, restaurants, bars and public transport will have to operate at 50% capacity.


The Maharashtra government has also banned the gathering of more than five people in public places between 9 p.m. and 6 a.m. Restaurants will operate at 50% capacity. The civic body of Mumbai has banned New Year celebration programs in any closed or open space in the city.


The southern state has imposed a 10-day night curfew from 10 p.m. to 5 a.m. In addition, the Karnataka government has banned New Year celebrations in pubs, restaurants and hotels. Additionally, the state government has banned New Year’s Eve parties and functions at outdoor venues, especially for those celebrating with DJs.

However, pubs and clubs have been told to operate at 50% capacity from December 30 to January 2.


Kerala has banned New Year celebrations during night hours. Pubs, restaurants, bars can operate with 60% seating capacity.


The state has imposed a statewide nighttime curfew from 11 p.m. to 5 a.m. as a precautionary measure to control the spread of Omicron.


The Gujarat government has extended the night curfew in eight cities by two hours. The curfew would be in effect from 11 p.m. to 5 a.m. instead of 1 a.m. to 5 a.m. in Ahmedabad, Surat, Rajkot, Vadodara, Junagadh, Jamnagar, Bhavnagar and Gandhinagar.


In view of the increase in Omicron cases in several states, the government of Uttar Pradesh has imposed a night curfew from 11 p.m. to 5 a.m.


The government of Odisha has decided to impose additional restrictions on New Year’s celebrations until January 2, 2022. The state has banned nightly New Year’s celebrations in hotels, clubs, restaurants, parks, convention halls and other public places across the state.

To subscribe to Mint Bulletins

* Enter a valid email

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.


Tamil Nadu Omicron's Count Reaches 45, New Year Celebration Banned In Chennai | Latest India News


Heavy snow possible on New Year's Day

Check Also